Our History

Mt. Hood Community College opened in 1966 and now enrolls over 33,000 students each year. Classes are offered at the Gresham Campus, the Maywood Park Campus, the Bruning Center for Allied Health Education and public schools within the district.

The College is financed by local property tax revenue, state reimbursement funds and student tuition.

Board members are elected to four-year terms, meet the second Wednesday night of each month and serve without pay. Presidents of the College have included Earl Klapstein, R. Stephen Nicholson, Paul E. Kreider, Joel Vela, Robert Silverman, John “Ski” Sygielski and Dr. Michael Hay. The current president is Dr. Debra Derr.

© 2014 Mt. Hood Community College | 26000 SE Stark St. | Gresham, OR 97030 | 503-491-6422
 Last Modified: 10/8/2013 06:41:53 AM