Beverly Russell Named MHCC Patron Saint

Posted: June 28, 2013
Beverly Russell Named Patron Saint

Beverly Russell, recipient of the 2012-13 MHCC Patron Saint Award with her grandson Grayson Russell and Dave Shields, MHCC District Board Chair 

Mt. Hood Community College (MHCC) is pleased to announce that it has bestowed the Patron Saint Award on Beverly Russell. This award is an annual tradition that recognizes individuals for their outstanding volunteer support and contributions to the college and its students.

Russell has been an active, longtime supporter of MHCC. The District Board of Education elected her to fill her husband Ron Russell’s unexpired term when he passed away in 2006; she then ran successfully for a four-year term in 2007. She served on numerous board committees, including budget, negotiations and presidential search and served as chair 2009-10.

She has also been a longtime supporter of the MHCC Foundation and currently serves on the board. She reads and scores scholarship applications and recruits her friends and family to attend foundation events.

"I was surprised and thrilled with this honor,” says Russell.  "Mt. Hood Community College is a valuable community asset worthy of our time, energy and resources. The college helps people to create opportunities for themselves so they can achieve their dreams.”

Other Recipients of the MHCC Patron Saint Award 

1967-68 Ross Morgan
1968-69 Marvin Ogle
1969-70 Lee Irwin
1970-71 Betty Schedeen
1971-72 Joe Nichlaus
1972-73 Ken Bateman
1973-74 Florence Carroll
1974-75 Harvey Akeson
1975-76 Earl Klapstein
1976-77 (no award)
1977-78 Sedley Stuart
1978-79 George Casterline
              Richard Deich
              Robert Dressler
              Frank Roberts
1979-80 Gloria McCreary
              Bob Murray
1980-81 Mary Bredenkamp
1981-82 Dora Firth
             Neil Riegelmann
1982-83 Ev McNall
             Gail Meyers
              Al Miller
1983-84 Homer Taylor
              John Warren
1984-85 Betty Schedeen
1985-86 Polly Casterline
1986-87 Richard Egner, Jr.
             Leo Marlantes
1987-88 Barbara Roberts
1988-89 Bob Davis
1989-90 Robert Graves
1990-91 (no award given)
1991-92 Rod Girtman
             Glenn Otto
1992-93 (no award given)
1993-94 (no award given)
1994-95 George Morgan
1995-96 Jan Shearer
1996-97 Diane McKeel
1997-98 Mary Zoe Petersen
1998-99 J. Frank Schmidt, Jr.
1999-00 Doug Walker
2000-01 Hiroshi Morihara
2001-02 Fred Bruning
2002-03 Karen Minnis
2003-04 The Weston Family
2004-05 Pat Fiedler
2005-06 Junki and Linda Yoshida
2006-07 Mark Garber
2007-08 Peggy Johansen
             Marilyn Zook
2008-09 Mike Porter
2009-10 Pat Evenson-Brady
             Bob McKean
             John Miner
             Barbara Rommel
2010-11 Sharon Birge
             Roger McDowell
             Carol Nielsen-Hood
2010-12 Vivian Murhammer

For more information, please contact the Office of College Advancement, 503-491-7204 or  

© 2014 Mt. Hood Community College | 26000 SE Stark St. | Gresham, OR 97030 | 503-491-6422
 Last Modified: 6/28/2013 04:27:09 PM